Reviews

What people are saying about Garragh Mhor B&B




Summary
4.9

A coastal idyll - Rating 5/5

My arrival coincided with some of the sunniest and warmest weather we’ve had yet this year and Argyll was a treat to look at on my journey. But the springtime in bloom en route was nothing compared to what awaited me at the sublime Garragh Mhor! A comfortable room which overlooked the garden and the village, a scrumptious breakfast and easy access to the natural wonders around Easdale combined to make this the perfect get-away-from-it-all. And the exhibition of finely-wrought artworks in iron was an unexpected bonus. Thank you, Jan and Daz, for making my stay so memorable. x

Response

Oh thankyou Carroll! It was such a pleasure to have you stay. We are delighted you liked your room and breakfast and the delights of Easdale. We look forward to seeing you here again. Enjoy the rest of your trip!JnD xx

Reviewer: Carroll P | Mon 13th May 2024 | 1 day ago


Excellent and very peaceful - Rating 5/5

We stayed for two nights, fantastic hosts and a quiet and comfortable room.5 minute walk to the village with good pub and SeafariWould stay again

Response

Hey Philip, it was lovely to have you and Jenny Stay. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay - we look forward to seeing you again sometime!All the best, JnD xx

Reviewer: Philip | Sun 12th May 2024 | 2 days ago


Lovely lovely lovely- Rating 5/5

Great hosts ..great breakfast... Very restful....go on enjoy it yourselves

Response

Well thank you very much!xx

Reviewer: The C | Sun 12th May 2024 | 2 days ago


Beautiful location- Rating 5/5

Jan and Daz are wonderful hosts of this gem.Nice little town to relax and have a beer just a short walk away.Food was great and don’t miss out on Daz’s legendary overnight oats!

Response

Hi Colin, so lovely to meet you and Donna. We hope the rest of your journey is fab! Very best,JnD xx

Reviewer: Colin S | Sun 12th May 2024 | 2 days ago


Excellent- Rating 5/5

Beautifully run by a very talented couple. Good location to explore the Slate Isles. Very welcoming, comfortable, good food and good company. Can not fault it so shall be back.

Response

Hey Pauline, thanks so much for the kind words. We look forward to seeing you again sometime. All the best, JnD xx

Reviewer: Pauline P | Thu 9th May 2024 | 5 days ago


Third visit, such a lovely place - Rating 5/5

Jan and Daz are great hosts and the accommodation is excellent. I will continue to visit for holidays and retreats.

Response

Hey Lorraine! How wonderful it was to have you back and this time with the lovely Katrina! We look forward to your return. Much Love, JnD xx

Reviewer: Lorraine| Mon 6th May 2024 | 1 week ago


As Good As It Gets - Rating 5/5

Once a B&B has good beds, plenty hot water, and decent food, it’s all down to the hosts. Garragh Mhor achieves the prerequisites with ease, and then it’s all pluses thanks to hosts Jan and Daz. They strike the perfect balance between being welcoming and helpful and letting you do your own thing. The reviews say it all - it’s just a great place to stay.

Response

What a fab review! Thank you so much! We do our best, and reviews like your make it worth while. xx

Reviewer: J M | Sun 5th May 2024 | 1 week ago


Amazing as always - Rating 5/5

This is the 2nd time we have stayed at garragh mhor. Accomodation great, breakfast the best in the best. Cant praise jan and daz enough. They go way beyond for their guests. We will definately be back soon.

Response

Judy, it was fantastic having you and Pamela to stay again. Eventful (!) but fab! Much love to you both, JnD xx

Reviewer: Judy H | Fri 3rd May 2024 | 1 week ago


Idyllic- Rating 5/5

This is the second time we've stayed at Garagh Mhor and it won't be the last!We love this place - it's like stepping into a different world, it has an atmosphere of calm and peace rarely found.Jan & Daz have created a real haven here - from the homely, comfortable guest rooms to the beautifully landscaped gardens - Garagh Mhor is somewhere to rest and recharge.Breakfast is another highlight..fabulous food served by Daz while Jan is singing and dancing round the kitchen cooking it. It is a joy!I have rarely felt so genuinely welcomed into any other accommodation.The village is lovely, loads to do..visit nearby Easdale on the little ferry, sit and admire the stunningly beautiful An Cala garden up the road, look for iron pyrites on the slate beaches,climb the mountain behind (it's easier than it looks!) for epic views over the village and islands, particularly at sunset. Cycle to Cuan (or drive) and catch the ferry to Luing -stunning island.As you can tell..we're big fans of Garagh Mhor.Can't wait to return.

Response

Aww, Jayne - thank you! Such a lovely informative review. We are looking forward to your return in the summer. You and Dave always make the most of your stay. It's great to see the affect this gorgeous natural environment has on you. Relaxing and renewing. So glad you manage to get out onto the water too this time.June will soon come round, but missing you both already!JnD xx

Reviewer: Jayne H | Sat 20th Apr 2024 | 3 weeks ago


Lovely B&B and Lovely People - Rating 5/5

I stayed at Garragh Mhor for one night and it was a lovely stay.Jan and Daz are lovely, friendly and helpful people, the room was very comfy and provided everything I needed.It's in a lovely occasion on Seil and has beautiful views.And Daz is an extremely talented artisan blacksmith (hope that's the right name) and his beautiful work is dotted throughout the B&B, giving it a real personal character.Thanks again Jan & Daz - see you next time hopefully!G

Reviewer: Gordon B | Mon 15th Apr 2024 | 4 weeks ago


Book Online

Our Facilities


  • Conference Facilities
  • Country Retreat
  • Free Parking
  • Free Wifi
  • Golfcourse (within 2 Miles)
  • Horse Riding
  • Vegetarian
  • Walking Holidays